This is the International Section of
The Broadcast Archive

Maintained by:
Barry Mishkind - The Eclectic Engineer
Updated: 11/26/00

Indian Broadcasting:

  • History
  • Regulation
  • Station Identifications

Indian Broadcast History:

The first station in India was operated by the Radio Club of Bombay in June 1923. (It has also been reported that Chandhar Bose carried out a number of experiments in Calcutta between 1915 and 1925.)

A national Broadcasting Service was set up on an experimental basis in July 1927 simultaneously at Bombay and Calcutta under an agreement between Government of India and a private company called the Indian Broadcasting Company Ltd.

When India became independent, the AIR network had only six Stations located at Delhi, Bombay, Calcutta, Madras, Lucknow and Tiruchirapalli with a total complement of 18 transmitters - six on the medium wave and the remaining on short wave. Radio listening on medium wave was confined to urban limits of those cities.


Station Identification: